86 Comments
author

An Early Arrival, fiction

“Next. When did you arrive?” asked the man at the gate. He clutched a book.

“Just now,” the man in line replied.

“Name?”

“Gregory Donahue.”

“How’d you die?”

“Plane, small engine.”

“Hmm…you’re early.” The man’s death date read: January 26, 2064.

“Forty years. Purgatory.” The skies opened. Gregory fell.

“Next.”

Expand full comment

Unplanned Absence, fiction

“Mommy, when will Daddy be back?”

Bret held his father’s baseball cap in one hand and a baseball in the other.

“He won’t, sweetheart,” his mother replied, her voice heavy as she hugged him.

Bret’s face fell.

“Why?”

“He’s on a new journey, a new adventure,” she whispered, tears streaming.

Expand full comment
Jan 26·edited Jan 26Liked by Justin Deming

Home, Fiction [Arrivals]

It was so quiet. All you could hear were the military personnel moving in precision. Greg would have enjoyed seeing all the people who came out. It’s not every day that you see something so special as this. The dignified transfer was complete. A hero to us and finally home.

Goodbye for Now, Fiction [Departures]

Summer was over. A sadness drew over the whole family. Emily was going off to college to experience adulthood. How could we let her go? The release we felt was overwhelming. We were proud parents. Would she remember us? Of course, she’d be home for Christmas. See you soon honey!

Expand full comment

Canceled Flight. What’s New?

3:45 arrival time, gate A13. I'm excited! Gate Kiosk: Delayed. Delayed. Delayed. Canceled. She sends a text - No more flights. I'll try tomorrow. Will keep you posted. I miss you. I depart from the airport and head home. I really miss her. Just more air travel bullshit. Tomorrow's another day.

Expand full comment

Late Train, fiction

The train was late, which meant I still had time to change my mind. But I knew in the marrow of my bones that I had opened a gate which could not be closed. I thought of the shop, and of her hair. I calmed. I waited.

Expand full comment
Jan 26Liked by Justin Deming

Partners in crime, fiction

She boarded the train that had just arrived and skillfully pickpocketed the wallet. It was time to depart at the next station when she faced the imposing train conductor. He too was impersonating under disguise hoping to find a suitable victim. Destiny provided him with a suitable life partner instead.

Expand full comment
Jan 26·edited Jan 26Liked by Justin Deming

**I invite everyone to complete this story for me by adding one last word. What's your take?**

SHADOW-MAN, fiction

For years there was nobody. Then one morning a shadow~man began following me everywhere, teasing me, stepping on my heels. It was annoying. Slowly, he weaseled his way into my life. And my bed. He made himself right at home.

He’s gone now, and frankly, I feel a little ____________.

Expand full comment
Jan 26·edited Jan 26Liked by Justin Deming

Arriving Home-poetry

How do I know when I’m home?

Arriving home is more than crossing a threshold.

Home is not walls.

*

Is home confining or liberating?

Both?

*

I don’t know why, but

one must leave home to arrive home.

*

I don’t know what it is,

but when I arrive,

I will know.

Expand full comment

The Planes Come and Go, CNF

He stood at the end of the runway, watching the planes come and go, his fingers hooked through the chain link fence under the "No Trespassing - Airport Property" sign.

She said she'd call, she said she'd write.

A year's gone by, and he's heard not a word.

She's a memory.

Expand full comment

Waiting (flash fiction)

Trainspotting offers very little reward. Each day I scribble numbers into a dog-eared purple notebook with my stubby, chewed pencil. Today, an old man steps down, wreathed in steam. He places the tan leather valise onto the platform. He nods once, climbing stiffly into his carriage. I hesitate. Should I?

Expand full comment

"Imagine Utopia" --Fiction

Imagine a world where new arrivals are 1,000% wiser than departed ones. Imagine how quickly society would change. What if baby prodigies arrived only to make the world a better place?

A place for learning, loving & sharing.

A place where there'd be no more violence. And no more wars.

Expand full comment

The Train Anecdotes--Fiction

Everyday, Mike conducted his train through the same stations, saying hello to everyone. Today was special. A little girl accompanied by her mother, came to him with a bundle of flowers and simply said: “Thank you for bringing my daddy home safe every day.”

Tears rolled down his rugged face…

Expand full comment
Jan 27·edited Jan 27Liked by Justin Deming

Gen-Z Arrival, Fiction

~~~

Macy glances up—Seatac baggage is just empty: forsaken, like Grandma's "guest room". Or home.

S'okay. They/Their world is online. Validation.

The red light spins. Thud! Even with earbuds, she hears the luggage arriving. Across the room she sees her parents approaching. Not smiling.

Back to her phone, they departs.

Expand full comment

The absent man, Fiction:

After de sex night, the man leaves. Ana realizes that she didn't even know his name. When she arrives home, she thinks “an absent is someone who is no longer here, who no longer exists, someone who is not present, in the present. We all miss someone who is absent”.

Expand full comment
Jan 29Liked by Justin Deming

Reset, Fiction

The day we left, workers started cutting down old trees across the street. My mother wept for the trees and for us, going back north after four months under the same roof. The pandemic froze us in time-- the workers, the family. A gift we accepted with gratitude and guilt.

Expand full comment

Arrivals and Departure's, fiction

At 10:03, the train steamed into the station. At 10:07, the train steamed away. No passengers embarked or debarked. No footsteps raced to catch the train. No families stood to welcome a long lost child. No conductor cried, "All Aboard!" 

The bomb destroyed life, but the machines remained.

Expand full comment
Jan 30Liked by Justin Deming

Zurich Station Announcement, Fiction

“Passenger alert for today’s three o’clock Romanshorn / Zurich Express. After passing Winterhur, the train‘s traditional speed escalated from 55 km/hr to over a billion km/hr due to its molecular structure accidentally converting into pure massless photons, thus achieving faster than light speed. Swiss Rail apologises for its early arrival.”

Expand full comment

These are all great!!

Expand full comment
deletedJan 27Liked by Justin Deming
Comment deleted
Expand full comment