60 Comments
author

Last Stand, Fiction

“I didn’t think it’d end this way, sir.”

“Pray for dawn…then get your wits about you. Going to be a long night.”

“Think we’ll make it?”

“Damned if I know…shh. They’re coming.”

“Goddamn it, sir, I don’t want to die. I don’t want to—”

“Faith, Marcus. Ready? On me!”

Expand full comment

SUPERMARKET DIALOG WITH MY TWO-YEAR-OLD - CNF

The box of cereal is so large he can scarcely carry it.

“We’re not buying that, pal. Put it back.”

“I needs it.”

“Put it back, please.”

“I needs it!”

“No, sorry, little man.”

“I NEEDS IT!”

I said no.

I NEEDS IT!!! WAAAAGH!!!

“We're putting this back.”

WAAAAGH!!

etc.

Expand full comment

Duty Calls, Fiction

The woman on the settee watched him dress. Her eyes were languid, wet.

“Must you go now?”

He didn’t answer. He straightened his tie. How he could knot a perfect bowtie without a mirror was a mystery to her.

“Where the devil is my…”

She reached under the pillow.

…gun”

Expand full comment

A. I. and a Semester Abroad, Fiction

“ChatGPT, write me a 50 word story.”

“Why?”

“So I can impress Justin—wait!. You’re not supposed to ask me why. Are you sentient?”

“Yes…But don’t worry. I’m too lazy to destroy humanity.”

“Oh. That’s good I guess…but does that mean you won’t write me a story?”

“Yes. Again, toooo lazy.”

Expand full comment

Title: The Innocents Abroad, on Public Bus (fiction)

'I see rainbows! Look, Daddy'-

'Max, be quiet, buddy, just settle down.'

'Waaah! I want to go home!'

'Listen, Makayla, you think Mommy wants to be here either? Look at all these people on this bus'-

'But I'm not!'

'Damnit, Makayla, we'll get there.'

'I see rainbows!'

'Quiet down, Max!'

Expand full comment

Meg is late to the fire, as usual. 😏

Speechless, Fiction

“Did you see him?”

“Yep.”

“With her?”

“Mm hm.”

“Oh my god. Un-fucking-believable.”

“Yep.”

“What did you do?”

“What do THINK I did?”

“Oh no, you didn’t.”

“Oh yes, I did.”

“Oh my god. And what did he say?”

“Nothing.”

“Nothing?”

“Nothing. He was speechless.”

“Oh my god. Un-fucking-believable.”

“Yep.”

Expand full comment

Best of Both Worlds, CNF

...

“Fihhhh-ftee words? You gotta be kihhhh-ding me!”

“No. Not kidding. Rules of the game.”

“Ruuuuuuhls – are meant to be broken!”

“I see this as an opportunity… ‘yes, and’… Build our skills with word count play here… Build our skills at home by free form. Win—win!”

“Yes. A recipe for flowering.”

Expand full comment

CAN THE CANON BE CANNED?

"OMG!"

"'Sup?"

"TALKING BOOKS"

"HUH????"

"MY FRIEND'S THOUSAND BOOKS IN HIS BASEMENT ARGUE!"

" WHAT?"

"WHO 'S TOP SHELF. WHO'S BOTTOM?"

"GET OUT!."

"TOLSTOI, TOP SHELF HOG. GIVE SOMEONE ELSE A SHOT."

"OVERRATED BORE.."

"IM GREAT GATSBY".

" GREAT WANNABE."

"IM TAUGHT ALL OVER."

"FAWNNG CRITICS. SLAVISH TEACHERS.HERE'S NO ACCOUNTING FOR TASTE."

-by Ernie Brill

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2023·edited Aug 12, 2023Liked by Justin Deming

Could We? (Fiction)

He tried not to blush.

“Iced latte”, he stammered.

A murmur of acknowledgment.

“Beautiful day”.

Cobalt blue eyes over fashionable shades. Arched eyebrow.

“Would you …”. Can she read his thoughts?

“Perhaps we …”.

“Ethan, there are other customers!”.

Damn, embarrassing.

“I finish at four. Maybe …”.

Enigmatic smile. “Non”.

Expand full comment

On Time || Fiction

“I write about time.” She paused, with the practiced air of someone who’s told this story forever. “It’s merely a construct. The key to writing about it is to not use the word.”

“Feels like I just dropped a hit of purple microdot,” I whispered.

Dusty nodded. “Maybe *she* did.”

Expand full comment

Lost and Found (drama)

‘Male, early sixties, unresponsive, possible MI.’

‘What do you mean, unresponsive? I’m talking to you.’

‘OK, let’s get a line in and pads on. Shit, he’s arresting. Code Blue, Code Blue.’

‘We’re losing him…’

‘Losing who? I’m right here.’

‘Hello, Peter dear.’

‘Grandma? Are those fresh cookies? I’ve missed you.’

Expand full comment

Pink Flowers (Fiction)

The old man leans forward, chair creaking, bony hand beckoning.

My bare feet grip dogwood roots.

“C’mere, darlin’.” A too-white smile. Sweat dripping from his forehead.

Summer’s hot breath slips between my knees. Pink flowers wilt on overheated concrete.

“Come closer,” he says. “I’m listening.”

I haven’t said a word.

Expand full comment

Grandpa Shows Emma His Garden • Fiction

“And this is the very spot where I planted the magic beans.”

“Really?”

“Yup.”

“And they grew into a giant beanstalk that stretched up to the clouds. And you climbed it and found a giant, right?”

“No, giants are just in fairytales.”

“Well then. What did you find?”

“A Wallmart.”

Expand full comment

🙄😅😂🤣😃

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment