78 Comments
author

Nightmare, fiction

Walker Reed learned a secret of the universe.

Mid-sleep, he tiptoed between worlds, careful to cushion his footsteps in the land of dreams. He didn’t want any Nightmares—hideous things— following him back to the waking world, or his sleeping family.

One morning, Walker woke. Nightmares smiled down at him.

Expand full comment

Cleverly done, Justin. I wasn’t going to write any ‘shorts’ this month as I have resurrected my long manuscript. But I gave in last night so I’ll post mine below.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you very much, Barrie! That’s kind of you to say. Sometimes they’re difficult to resist, right?! About to check yours out…stay tuned! 😄

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Deliciously creepy.

Yes, I know, I've been absent. But what a gift to return to. Nightmare making!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much, Stephen! Autumn is in the air (well, tomorrow, technically), and the spooky stories are emerging…I’m here for it! 👻

Hope all is well!

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Such a fabulous first line. And "tiptoed between worlds" is perfect. You are a master of the genre, Justin, no doubt about it.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much, my friend. I had that line “tiptoed between worlds” written in my notebook for a while, so I’m happy I was able to finally use it!

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Excellent as always. Thanks for running this super fun roundup

Expand full comment
author

Thanks, Scott! Right back at you. What a wonderful mix of stories and poems all around!

Expand full comment

Love this, Justin!

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

( A variation on the theme of a longer piece I posted earlier this week )

NIGHT TERRORS, poem

She feels her way through a darkling cave

and wades through slimy grimy bog

and icky sticky spider webs

the hurrying scurrying fangs and claws

the foulish howl of rabid beasts!

A bony finger reaches out.

She screeches out and swiftly turns.

Then she strikes and bites,

and … finally …. wakes.

Expand full comment
author

Ooh! This is spooky! Love it, Sharron! 👻

Expand full comment

Creepy cool

Expand full comment

It seems we have been having the same dreams! "Icky sticky". I like.

Expand full comment

Thank you Stephen. I tried to write something horrific but the rhymes kept popping up and it turned into Dr. Seuss! Reminds me of a children's rhyme... almost.

Expand full comment

Yikes, Sharron! This gives me the heebie-jeebies! Good job!!

Expand full comment

Heebie-jeebies! Is that anything like “the willies”? The whim-whams? The screaming-meemies? Then my job is done…ha ha ha

Expand full comment

It’s a cumulative attack of all of these things, Sharron! Lol

Expand full comment

I can't decide which one I like more, the original or the poem. Both are wonderfully creepy.

Expand full comment

Here’s one I amended that I wrote last year.

A Witchy Brew (a haiku chain), poem

Cauldrons bubble fierce

Chanting echoes in the night

Spells cast in shadows

Crackles pierce the dark

Venomous potions brewing

Diabolical

Ghosts goblins and ghouls

Witches brew poison for all

Dark alliance forms

Necromantic spells

Witches’ potions intertwine

Raising the undead

Moonlit midnight dance

Undead rise witches converge

A dark union

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

Oooo. I like it. All the senses are engaged. You and I are getting an early start on Hallowe'en...

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Haiku is a wonderful format. Isn't it great how five syllables can be spread over four words or packed into one magnificent package? DIABOLICAL!

Expand full comment

*Cackles* pierce the dark

Also, in keeping with the theme, I’d like to retitle it Halloween Dreams. 😊

Expand full comment
author

Oh man, I am loving these dark and diabolical stories/poems! Excellent, Caro!

Expand full comment

"Necromantic spells"....Love it!! Very spooky!!

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

The Secret Agent

The Lamborghini caught up to the car ahead that had the pretty woman and the coveted flash drive. His glock deflated the back tyre. An elbow strike followed by a flying tackle did the trick.The woman kissed her savior passionately. He woke up to find his dachshund smothering him!

Expand full comment
author

What a great surprise ending, Sunil. Wasn’t expecting the dachshund there! Loved it! 🐶

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

I do hope he hadn't shot the dog in his sleep!

Expand full comment

Yes! Nothing like those passionate puppies!! lol

Expand full comment

Those doggies will do that. Love it!

Expand full comment

Wow! An entire novel in 50 words.

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

A Real Snore, Fiction

“You really get your story ideas in dreams? That’s cheating.”

“It’s still me after all.”

“Maybe you should change your byline to acknowledge your subconscious as the real author? How can you really write while slumbering?”

Che had heard enough. “Being put to sleep never seemed to bother your readers.”

Expand full comment
author

Haha! What a great line. 😆

Expand full comment

Ooo. Snark! I like it, Scott.

Expand full comment

Thx! Writers sniping, whoever heard of such a thing lol

Expand full comment

Catty. Brilliant!

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

Smothered

He was fighting to breathe, every sense on high alert. Who his attacker was wasn't evident. He fought as if his life depended on it, struggling to get this weight off his face. He woke to his partner trying to stop his loud snoring with a feather pillow.

“Sorry honey.”

Expand full comment
author

Haha! Too funny, Kim.

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

My wife never says 'sorry', she just hits me and goes 'stop snoring'.

I'd love the gentle approach of a pillow and a 'sorry'.

But I'm going to remember your idea as an excuse for next time, "but honey, I was under attack!"

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Right! My husband claims I tried to smother him with a pillow. Actually, I was attempting to push him into his side by pushing him with the pillow. This was the basis for my story.

Expand full comment

Ha ha ha!

Expand full comment

TRAVELER - Fiction ...a snippet of a dream I had in 1997 that has always stayed with me. There's more...

"Come back to us." Words on a piece of ancient onion-skin parchment.

Nobody Shirl shaking me awake, demanding we leave immediately as she is waiting for me.

"She?"

"Come, she is not a patient woman." In my confusion and shock, I followed; my world transforming into another, dark and beguiling...

Expand full comment
author

Ooh, really liked this one, Deborah!

Expand full comment

Thank you so much!

Expand full comment

How much more?

Expand full comment

So much more, pages and pages

Expand full comment

Dream VS Reality (Fiction)

The dream is of a scrumptious medium rare steak hot off the grill, sautéed mushrooms still bubbling, and a loaded baked potato drenched in butter. Of course, seasoned green beans would be necessary to make a balanced meal. Unfortunately, the reality is a plain peanut butter sandwich on white bread.

Expand full comment
author

You just made me hungry, and I’m not happy about it. 😉 Great story, Zoe!

Expand full comment

Around here, that's a "fend-for-yourself night" in my kitchen! Sounds good to me!

Expand full comment

Now I'm hungry!

Expand full comment

Yeah. Make that Wonder Bread, and I am in, Zoe.

Expand full comment

I eat many more peanut butter sandwiches than I do steaks, but when I sat down at the keyboard, I guess I was hungry. LOL

Expand full comment
Sep 20Liked by Justin Deming

My Dream, CNF

My dream, if I had unlimited resources, would be to become a philanthropist. It would bring me joy to anonymously help to end world hunger. But do I need unlimited resources to help my neighbors next door? To donate my time to the food bank? My dream is within reach.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful! And so well said, Sharon.

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Lovely sentiment. Couldn't agree more.

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

Thank you for this loving reminder, Sharon. Every can of soup, every carrot, every loaf of bread helps someone.

Expand full comment

Dreamer (fiction)

I caught the salesman’s eye.

“5-2-6 horsepower from the V8 Voodoo, nought to sixty in four seconds.” Now he cannot deny I know the mighty Mustang. “Six speed, man, stiffened chassis”, I added, “How much for cash?”

“Keep dreaming, son, even your Dad’s pocket money won’t stretch to this beauty.”

Expand full comment
author

We all can dream, right?! Excellent work, Barrie!

Expand full comment

Ah, you’re very kind. I’m a bit out of practice, Justin.

Expand full comment
author

I don’t think so at all! Hope you have a wonderful weekend across the pond. 😄

Expand full comment

Post-cycle cheeseboard. Life is good.

Happy weekend, my friend.

Expand full comment
Sep 21Liked by Justin Deming

TAP OUT (fiction)

Gasping awake to echoless darkness.

Confusion.

Breathe deeply.

I recall whispers, 'When I hear tapping, I'll let you out'.

Constriction.

I began tapping.

Shave and a haircut.

Sensory under-load.

Train-track.

Oblivion.

Morse code.

Panic.

Vigorously thumping now.

Heartbeat.

Bloodied knuckles.

Hyperventilation.

"Let me out ... "

Dismay.

I'm trapped in my dream.

Expand full comment
author

To call this unsettling is an understatement. Spooky stuff, Stephen! I really enjoyed it!

Expand full comment

CNF, My Reoccurring Childhood Dream

“The prophet that hath a dream, let him tell a dream; and he that hath my word, let him speak my word faithfully.” – Jeremiah 23:28

I look through the iron gate watching a cloud descend. Jesus stands and bodies rise to meet him in air. I wake, confused—left behind?

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful!

Expand full comment

What a beautiful vision, GeorgeAnn.

Expand full comment

Thanks, I had the dream in different versions several times. I may write a post about it sometime cause there’s more to the story.

Expand full comment

Hmmm. Sounds like one of my anxiety dreams. 😏 Love the creepy vibe, Sharron!

Expand full comment