51 Comments
Jan 12Liked by Justin Deming

Illusion

Will I find you beyond the next mountain?

Is there a guarantee you'll be there?

Or perhaps the next peak?

When does the toil end?

The search is in vain as it's an illusion

Nothing separates us in reality

Let me find myself first and then will the search end

Expand full comment

Saying Goodbye, Fiction

“This was her favorite place to visit,” he said, as his voice broke. “She said the purple mountains symbolized freedom, a place where our souls could soar.”

He opened the catch on the silver urn and held it over the ledge, releasing its contents.

“Her soul is flying free now.”

Expand full comment
Jan 12·edited Jan 13Liked by Justin Deming

Silence, Blue - prose poem

Lord have mercy, she whispered. The early morning light painted the distant mountains several shades of purple blue. She was 80 years old, and tears spilled down her wrinkled cheeks. She stood in silence a long while, knowing she was witnessing a miracle.

Her first visit to The Grand Canyon.

Expand full comment
Jan 13Liked by Justin Deming

Soundtrack, Fiction

He stopped measuring the distance in miles and started measuring in songs.

Melody carried him over each violet dune, spurred his legs to drum on, his breath to rebound, and his eyes to cling to the amber glow kissing the horizon.

There was only sky. And music.

To the end.

Expand full comment

I spent my career building. It's all math, numbers, angles and incessant planning and careful execution. In my retirement, I have been pondering that nature does all that it does with no math, no numbers, no plan, and no apparent planned execution. It's just there.

This poem found its way into my mind just as soon as I read the prompt.

PERFECT IMPERFECTION-poem

Does it make sense?

Nature’s perfect order

Is so random.

Squares, rectangles

Triangles and circles

Exist mostly

In our minds.

Do straight lines

Lead us to something

Or away from nature,

Away from true home?

Nature is perfect

Imperfection,

Randomness an

Ideal.

Do not try

To understand.

You cannot know.

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by Justin Deming

Freedom, fiction

Five ridges stand between me and freedom

One for each brother lost

Every climb is daunting

Every descent challenging

Each mountain embodies a guardian spirit

Supporting me, guiding me, inspiring me

Reminding me

Even though I may fall

Every time I look up

I will see the sky and freedom

Expand full comment

New Year's Resolution --Journal

The best memories are yet to be told.

Sitting around a fire brings forth a certain kind of magic that few other places offer. Camping in the mountains is one of them. Moments embedded in our subconscious are the gems.

So... I'm getting a loan to build a wood cabin.

Expand full comment

Purple Mountain's Majesty, poetry?

Purple Mountain's Majesty rose from the black velvet cloak of night and spread itself on the horizon before the dawn.

It can not be only for me, that I'm the only one to see the morning mist arise in wisps and disappear,

Turning mares of night into dreams of day.

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by Justin Deming

Lovelight (Drama, I guess?)

They told her not to date him.

‘He’s weird,’ said Sarah.

‘Not your type,’ said Eve.

‘He’s like an alien,’ Ruth whispered.

‘Or an angel.’

‘Or a demon.’

But he was so cute.

Still, when the sun dropped and his skin started to glow, Lilith thought they had a point.

Expand full comment
Jan 12Liked by Justin Deming

“Mountains” (drama)

From Isaiah’s porch, the Rocky Mountains turned purple in the twilight. He lit a cigarette.

“I’m sorry, Daddy, but it’s true.” Sally’s foot bumped her suitcase. “I don’t believe anymore. I never did.”

Snow next month. Snowshoeing might be relaxing.

“Say something.”

He shut his eyes and imagined the trails.

Expand full comment

When I Think about Dying poem / CNF

I expect to be seeing the light

and feeling peace

while going thru the dark tunnel

being met by loved ones on the other side

in a world more beautiful than here

transcending space and time

but not ready to do that quite yet

too much still to do here

Expand full comment

Spacious Skies, Fiction

Dora dust bunny gazed through the glass from her windowsill perch.

“Oh! Give me a home – where the buffalo roam…” Words forgotten, Dora’s twang trailed to a hum.

She longed for neat, fresh, and pristine spaces!

“For purple mountain majesties… hmmmm-hmmm-hmmmm-hm-hmmm-hm… America! America! God – Make a clean room for Me?”

Expand full comment

Purple Purple Everywhere • Fiction

Captain Starfinder stepped into the cargo hold. Science officer Max Grower was unpacking a crate.

“It’s been a long cryo. You ready to get started.”

“Absolutely, Captain. I have the seeds.”

“What about this container?”

“I’m not planting those.”

“Why not.”

“They’re plums.”

“So?”

“Have you looked out the window?”

Expand full comment

I thought nothing of steep falls, wolves, dangers lurking in the mist. Only beauty, my two eyes beheld, only the thought of what lay beyond. When I found myself deep inside it - the danger, the possibility, the beauty and the darkness - I knew then it had always been within me.

Expand full comment
Jan 12·edited Jan 12Liked by Justin Deming

Two Magi in Seclusion Speak, of Transits Rapid and Slow (Fiction!)

The men sat wrapped in gloom and smoke.

"When we'll bury him, then?"

"The... 26th?" replied the other, "if"-

"But the year's have to rhyme," said the first. "For alignment"-

"If we waited this long"-

"Will she still be good for the money, by then?"

"Never late before"-

"Brilliant, mate!"

Expand full comment

A bit late to the party, but here's mine...

The Mountains Are Calling (CNF)

Every time I see the Adirondacks, I see my Dad as he was when we hiked them, fit and forty, in jeans and a t-shirt, ballcap pulled down over far away eyes. On the trail, he pointed out animal tracks, picked berries, and laughed like he seldom did at home.

Expand full comment