49 Comments
author

Ripple, fiction

Eva walked to the quiet lake—the one place that rejuvenated her soul.

She sat down on the rocks of her childhood. They had always been her favorite place to think.

Eva held her stomach, whispered “I love you.” She’d find a way.

The lake—and her life—rippled simultaneously.

Expand full comment
Jul 12Liked by Justin Deming

You gave us about ten pages here in this small piece, just with these eight words: "Eva held her stomach, whispered “I love you.” Masterfully done, Justin. Wow!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much, Sharron! I’m happy you liked this one!

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

“The lake-and her life-rippled simultaneously.” You captured the feeling of Eva’s life, and the life she was carrying, and it is a feeling all mothers experience, at the wonder of the moment. And poor Eva is alone. Just brought tears to my eyes, Justin. A lot of emotion in only 50 words!

Expand full comment
author

Aww, thank you, Sharon. That’s incredibly kind of you. I’m happy you liked the story! 🙏

Expand full comment
Jul 12Liked by Justin Deming

Oooo, so much unsaid, yet abundantly clear. Hard to do in 50 words but you did it very nicely, Justin.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks very much, Jim. That’s kind of you to say!

Expand full comment

Nicely done, Justin.

"Eva held her stomach, whispered “I love you.” speaks volumes.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much, Mark!

Expand full comment

You CAN go home again!

It seems that our nostalgia for where we've been fulfills us more than anticipation of where we might go.

Expand full comment
author

I think it absolutely can! Now that is something to chew on. Thanks so much for reading. 🙏

Expand full comment
Jul 12Liked by Justin Deming

TRUTH OR DEATH, Speculative fiction

We’re not afraid.

We’re leaving the dark droning of Nether-Rule, freeing ourselves from the incessant, mind-numbing chatter of The Creed.

We don’t know what dangers wait out there in the Dross, but Rejuvenation calls to us. The light calls to us.

And we will live the Truth. Or we’ll die.

Expand full comment
author

This is a sit-on-the-edge-of-your-seat kind of story. I’d read this is novel format! (And fifty-word format, of course.) I love your speculative stories, Sharron. There’s a psychological element to them that is always so gripping!

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

Oh, goodness! Thank you, Justin. I wish I knew what happens next in this story. Maybe it will come to me... I appreciate so much your encouragement.

Expand full comment
Jul 12·edited Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

Chemical rejuvenation ( Fiction )

The flock of baby sparrows had to reach their nests before dusk. The strong gust of wind was making it harder. The maverick of the group taught them a risky stunt. It required swooping across the engine of speeding vehicles to get fuel combustion acceleration. They arrived back just in time.

Expand full comment
author

I love the focus of this piece and where you landed, Sunil. Excellent! (No pun intended…well, maybe.) 🐦 😄

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

I actually saw some small birds doing that the other day while driving! It set me thinking and got etched in my memory...

Expand full comment
author

I love when that happens. Well, needless to say, you captured it beautifully and spun it into a neat little tale!

Expand full comment
Jul 13·edited Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

So I am guessing one of the sparrows was nicknamed "Goose"? 🤣

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

Yes it does have that Top Gun kind of thrill!

Expand full comment

Newly Reborn- poem

Age wears on a person.

Slings and arrows

And so forth.

Doubt, failure,

Even success

Takes its toll.

There is more that I can see

Looking back

Than forward.

But when

I look

At the newborn youth

That bears my name

And knows my love I, too,

Am born again.

Expand full comment
author

What an incredibly sweet poem that comes full circle. Loved it! Thanks for sharing it with us.

Expand full comment

The Record Fair, Fiction

The hall smelled like old cigarette smoke and the walls peeled yellow. He didn't want to be here on his Saturday.

Flicking through that first box of vinyl records changed everything. Like discovering magic; he felt rejuvenated.

He shared a smile across the room with his Dad.

Finally, he understood.

Expand full comment
author

A lovely gem of a story, Chris! What a special moment shared between the two. Really enjoyed this one!

Expand full comment

Thanks Justin! It's also based on a true story, I remember it to this day!

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow, it makes it that much more impactful!

Expand full comment

I still have The Beatles' "Red Album" 1962-1966 vinyl on the Apple label, which was the first album I bought.

Expand full comment

Love it - what an album!

Expand full comment
Jul 13Liked by Justin Deming

Finally he understood... when he found the Beatles' Please Please Me, UK Stereo, 1st press, LP, Gold Label. ha ha ha Very cool, Chris.

Expand full comment

Love it! This is a great detail haha!

Expand full comment

Organic, poem

In nature’s embrace,

she found solace, a sanctuary,

where worries melted,

and her soul, like a flower in bloom,

unfurled in the light of renewal.

Whispers of the wind spoke of rebirth,

of new beginnings in every rustling leaf,

each gentle breeze promised healing,

a balm for her worn spirit.

Expand full comment
Jul 12Liked by Justin Deming

Just lovely, Caro. You and Justin were riding the same wave today.

Expand full comment
author

This entire poem is like a big warm hug. It’s tender, hopeful, and beautifully written. Excellent work, Caro! Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment

I wrote a 50-word story (sci-fi) about rejuvenation, but it deserves to be way longer. I don't want to spoil the ending, so I am keeping it unpublished until the longer story is written. Then, I will add the 50-word story at the end for fun.

Expand full comment
author

I think it’s wonderful when these fifty-worders simply cannot be contained. It happens to me sometimes, too.

I can’t wait to read your story, Mark!

Expand full comment

It has happened to me several times. A 50-word story became the idea or “outline” for a much longer story. It is nice when that happens. Thanks.

Expand full comment

Back to the Future? (poem)

A status quo of carnage

wrecked lanes left clustered

with stacked heaps of corroding

batteries, tires exhausted

a useless gear-menagerie

Altogether unmoved

And to think! Just one EMP burst or asteroid

-For few would agree-

dazzled the dream of electric

a slow death until there was no

more rejuvenation.

Expand full comment
author

Chris! It’s great to see you again. Your poems are brilliant—there’s always so much to unpack! Thanks so much for sharing, and I hope all is well with you.

Expand full comment

Cheers, Justin- good to be back, and glad you enjoyed it. I had been kept busy finishing work on my rather long detective novel til a few weeeks ago... perhaps now I will have more time for fun stuff like this. Hope you're having a great summer and keep up the great work.

Expand full comment
author

That’s exciting news, Chris! Congrats on your novel. Please keep me posted regarding the next steps. I’d love to read it someday. And thank you for the encouraging words! 🙏

Expand full comment

“The lake-and her life-rippled simultaneously.” This is the universal balance point of the story. All of us hold something we love in our belly that causes ripples in our lives.

Expand full comment
author

I love the way you describe it, Annie. Couldn’t agree more with you. Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Expand full comment

Donor

The Director cursed the drug-damaged veins of the man thrashing against thick leather restraints. He cursed the rare blood group required to rejuvenate his 111-year-old President, a racist bigot who, had he been awake, would have damned to hell the Guatamalan gangster who held the key to his next term.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for sharing “Donor” here as well, Barrie. It’s such a dark and frightening piece—and so well written!

Expand full comment

I think I should just have popped it here. The second piece on Rejuvenate just isn’t sharp enough so I’ll probably lose it somewhere deep in the recesses of my laboratory (laughs maniacally!) and see where the Donor might slide into my wider dystopian musings.

Expand full comment
author

Nah, the second story is very strong too! 💪 But I am very on board with your idea regarding Donors. To the laboratory! Muahaha!

Expand full comment

The Young, creative non-fiction

Jeune. From the French, “young.”

And they were the young, this sea of Marines at Camp Lejeune, getting on the buses, waving good-bye.

“Nobody’s crying,” a man said into the phone, exultant, as I stood beside him in tears.

No Lieutenant General could rejuvenate these kids once they’d seen combat.

Expand full comment
author

Jennie, I’m sorry for missing this. What a heart wrenching piece. So much emotion packed into such a small space—brilliant work!

Expand full comment

Thank you!

Expand full comment