32 Comments
May 17·edited May 17Liked by Justin Deming

FLASHBACK, prose poem

There was a time when every road led to him. I followed the scent of pine needles and patchouli, dry sage and manzanita — and there he was.

A part of me will forever be that blazing young woman in thrall to him, to his beautiful body and his glad grace.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful, Sharron.

Expand full comment

As soon as I saw the word “patchouli” that smell memory invaded my brain. Funny how that happens.

Expand full comment

Then you know what era I am talking about, Caro.... ancient history.

Expand full comment

‘In thrall’. So evocative.

Expand full comment

Beautiful!

Expand full comment

Venice, CNF

In Venice's winding canals, the briny sea air mingles with ancient stones, creating its own perfume.

An aroma of freshly baked pastries at Colussi Il Fornaio, sets my stomach rumbling in appreciation.

With every step, history’s essence casts its spell, and I’m glad I’m here before Venice succumbs to time.

Expand full comment
author

You’ve transported me in fifty words, Caro. Evocative!

Expand full comment

Lovely, Caro. For me, the perfume of Venice is Baccalà alla Vicentina con Polenta. Madonna Santa! Thanks for the memory.

Expand full comment
May 17Liked by Justin Deming

Winning (fiction)

Success smells sweet, that's what they say. Always thought that meant like apple pie and cinnamon, or fresh chocolate brownies. Hell, even like the whiskey breath he belched out every night before he, y'know. Had me. I know better now. Success smells like blood and the cordite from a forty-five.

Expand full comment
author

Oops, my reply got kicked below for some reason.

Expand full comment

Holy crap, John! Not a doubt in my mind -- he deserved it, the bastard!

Expand full comment

I've been watching Fallout. The writing for that show pulls no punches at all. It's inspiring :)

Expand full comment
May 17Liked by Justin Deming

“Morning Bakery” (CNF)

I worked in a warehouse. For breakfast, I’d buy orange juice and a packaged croissant at a deli.

Walking to my job, I’d pass a bakery, long before it opened. The smell of fresh bread, pastries and pies floated through the air.

The taste of my pastry paled in comparison.

Expand full comment
author

That must have been an absolute tease every morning. Great story, Rich!

Expand full comment

Bread-poem

My sister got into

Making bread

Many years ago.

Then life became

An obstacle.

Children, work, a

Scheduled life,

All complicate

The simpler things

In life.

I can go back

Any time in

My memory and

Sit and eat

Unbuttered bread

With her.

I can smell

That still warm

Bread.

Expand full comment
author

Lovely, RI. A very sweet poem!

Expand full comment

My Achilles heel. Still warm, freshly baked bread. Yum 😋

Expand full comment

mmm. me too.

Expand full comment
May 17Liked by Justin Deming

Scent of a woman ( a poem )

Scent of a woman, tousled in sauce

An artist's delight, flourish and a toss

The pan is bubbling, with a promise to delight

Can't get over the fragrance, I'll be late for my flight

My parcel is sealed, close to my heart

The scent makes my eyes moisten and smart

Expand full comment
author

Lovely work, Sunil!

Expand full comment
May 18Liked by Justin Deming

Thanks Justin!

Expand full comment
May 19Liked by Justin Deming

"Grandma's Peach Tree"

At nine, I was considered too young to attend my grandmother's funeral. When I picture her now, she is picking peaches from the tree in her back yard, which she canned and cooked. Grilled peaches, peach jam, peach pie. Warm from the oven, with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful, Lia! Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment
May 19·edited May 19Liked by Justin Deming

Breeze, prose poem

"I can feel it approaching, like a breeze penetrating my nostrils. I've known this sensation since I was a child. I've felt it many times, in the mountain air, in the woods, in the river, the sea, in my mum's hair. I feel it in the air as spring approaches.

Expand full comment
May 19Liked by Justin Deming

"Home"

My memories of Nanaw will forever center on her kitchen; where the smell of bacon and biscuits lingered all day long, to be joined by the fragrance of fried chicken and potatoes, cinnamon and apples, hot chocolate, love. The best compliment ever is to hear my kitchen smells like Nanaw's.

Expand full comment
author

Certain smells evoke memories of my grandma, too. This one hits home, just like Lia’s story above. Lovely work!

Expand full comment

The smell of life. Fiction.

It was dark; he couldn't move, he couldn't breathe. He only smelled something— it was the scent of his cat.

"Look, he's coming to."

Three months in coma, doctors decided to disconnect him from life support. They brought the cat to say goodbye; she snuggled up to him, and then he came to.

Expand full comment
May 22Liked by Justin Deming

Thanks for sharing this, Justin- I'm not familiar with John Lightle's work. But your writing here has prompted me to research his work. Hope you're having an awesome week-

Expand full comment
author

Thanks so much, Thalia. John is a great guy and an incredible photographer!

Expand full comment
author

A killer final line! Loved the progression of this one!

Expand full comment