64 Comments
author

Dazed, fiction

Wyatt spent his life on his phone: emails, scrolling, mindless videos. One day, glancing up, he realized Charlene and the kids had moved out.

He wept. A soothing YouTuber calmed him. He subscribed to her channel and fell in love all over again.

Wyatt never woke from this digital stupor.

Expand full comment

Oof, reading this on my phone. Putting my phone down. Immediately. Hard hitting!

Expand full comment
author

Reading this on my phone, too, Barrie! 😆 Thank you so much!

Expand full comment

💛✍️💛

Expand full comment

Some folks never learn.

Expand full comment
author

Sad but true.

Expand full comment

checking my screen time now...

Expand full comment
author

Ha, that makes two of us! 😄

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

Oh, man! Brilliant. "One day, glancing up..... " Wow, anything can happen while we are all sleeping

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, Sharron!

Expand full comment
May 3Liked by Justin Deming

My Girl - Fiction

Where is she now?

She was here only a moment ago.

But I lost her.

Shame.

She was better than me, you know?

More of me.

She knew what she wanted.

Did she get it?

I hope so.

I wish she would come back to me.

Just once.

And always.

Expand full comment

Cue the “if onlys…”

Expand full comment

😭😭😭

Expand full comment
May 3Liked by Justin Deming

THE TIME MACHINE, fiction

She selects G9 on the ancient jukebox, and instantaneously teleports to 1958.

She finds herself in Al’s Creamery after school with ninth-grade friends, wearing black and white saddle shoes with heel taps, ghost-pale lipstick. Johnny Otis is on the turntable, and they’re all doing that crazy hand jive.

She’s staying

Expand full comment
author

Love this, Sharron. I’m sure many of us would stay, too!

Expand full comment

Damn glad she is staying

Expand full comment

The Truck - Fiction

It's not what you'd think of as a family car, that 1959 International pickup perpetually parked in the driveway.

Memories stir as he looks at it. Dad driving. Mom laughing. Siblings fighting. Splatters of mud still stuck to the fender.

A tear escapes as a new father takes the wheel.

Expand full comment
author

Great story and take on the prompt, Claire! That final line is hard-hitting. Your story makes me think back on all of the family vehicles in my life…memories galore!

Expand full comment

Funny how things can hold memories.

Expand full comment

Time Slips, fiction

Memories faded, dreams evaporated, and sand from the hourglass of my life flowed from one chamber to the next.

A few grains later, the sun kissed the horizon, casting long shadows across the room.

My time was almost up.

“I’m ready,” I said to my love, as I slipped away.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful, Caro! Time is so very precious.

Expand full comment
May 4·edited May 4Liked by Justin Deming

Life is ridiculously short. If only we realized it when we’re young. No, that would ruin the joy of youth. I suppose it is just the way of things.

Expand full comment

If I knew then what I know now . . .

Expand full comment

Poignant.

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

"The hourglass of my life" Yes. That's it.

Expand full comment
May 3Liked by Justin Deming

Time slips away ( Fiction )

They fought just when he got marching order's to report for duty. His heart ached since this eerie silence. The shell dropped right next to his bunker. Time was quickly slipping past him. Her kerchief which she had shoved in his combat pocket was clutched tightly in his frozen hand.

Expand full comment
author

Heart-wrenching, Sunil! I’m always impressed with how much emotion you’re able to pack into these short pieces.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Justin Deming

I feel humbled by your words of encouragement 🙏

Expand full comment

Fishing With A Friend - Fiction

I cast a line in the water. I hadn’t been fishing in years and didn’t think I had the patience for it. But when Bob asked I couldn’t say no. Sitting there, my mind raced through a hundred things. Eventually, it settled down and I relaxed. I will be back.

Expand full comment
author

Loved this, Mark! Spending time in nature is never the wrong choice.

Expand full comment

It is definitely good for the mind and soul.

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

A few hours without a phone? Might be just the thing! Nice one, Mark.

Expand full comment

Couldn't hurt. Thanks, Sharron.

Expand full comment

The Slip, Fiction

Time swirled around Holden Barnes; he had slipped. Lost control.

The numbers on his watch face peeled away; the glass case cracked.

"What happened?" Holden asked. The figures blurred around him, speeding through time.

Then, a voice. "Time has no master; and time will always tell."

Years. Days. Moments.

Gone.

Expand full comment
author

Wow, Chris! This is excellent! One of my favorites of yours without question.

Expand full comment

Ah thank you Justin! Really appreciate this!

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

Superb!

Expand full comment

Time--poem

Is there a finish line in life?

Death?

What measure is that?

No, life is not a race to death.

Relish the moments, the events.

Look back, but do not lament lost moments.

Look forward, not in fear but in anticipation.

Live now, as if your life depended on it.

Expand full comment
author

Lovely words to live by!

Expand full comment

It’s not the right time, fiction

All he needed was a little more, then he’d give it a real shot. It wasn’t a big dream, but he needed to be careful. Save a little more money. Put in a little more time.

Now he was retiring; comfortable, respected, safe – and the hole in him still empty.

Expand full comment
author

The idea of “more” has plagued society in many aspects, hasn’t it? This is such a powerful story, Stephanie. Excellent stuff!

Expand full comment

Absolutely. If the goal is more, it'll probably never be enough.

Expand full comment

Living for retirement is a wasted life. Live each day! Retire with great memories.

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

Right, you are!

Expand full comment

Love this advice!

Expand full comment

Take from an old geezer. 🤓🤣

Expand full comment

😂 Learned wisdom!

Expand full comment
May 4Liked by Justin Deming

"All he needed was a little more." Sad story, this "more" business. Nice work, Stephanie.

Expand full comment

The New Job (Creative Non-Fiction)

It seems like yesterday driving into the dark abyss of the roadway so early in the morning. I didn’t know what I was getting into. A bunch of learning and a promotion along the way. Time slips away so fast. I can’t believe it’s been a year and a half.

Expand full comment
author

Time sure does fly, doesn’t it?! Thanks for sharing, Matthew. (And if the new job is yours, I hope it is going well!)

Expand full comment

It is going well. It has its ups and downs, which is expected of any job.

Expand full comment
May 3Liked by Justin Deming

A box of Photos - Fiction

Henry’s mother used to sit with him and they would look through the box. There were photos of Henry when he was young. She loved to tell him the story behind each photo. She took every photo and now he looked through them sad. He could only cry to himself.

Expand full comment
author

Aww. Hopefully he can one day look back on the memories made with happiness.

Expand full comment

Rewind Button, CNF

At 90, he has far away eyes that peer more often into the distant past than the future or the now. He seems to travel in time, back to his Brooklyn boyhood days, to Johnny on the Pony and stoopball, to days when his old friends were more than memories.

Expand full comment
author

This is absolutely beautiful, Chele. 🥲

Expand full comment

Lovely, Chele.

Expand full comment

It's Too Late Fiction or Non-Fiction, could be either

missing the timeline for contact

we're very ancient beings

watching humans evolve

technology being mastered

but still a warlike species

too much to implant into humans

without blowing their circuits

the wisdom to save your planet

and still only a very few qualify

time to move on to another galaxy

Expand full comment
author

I like how you classified this one as either fiction or non-fiction. I completely agree with you. Great piece of writing, my friend!

Expand full comment

On my watch it's high time

I make timeless time with you

Time slips away all the time.

Time's tricky, iwears a diaper,

Climbs into a coffin (permanent timeout)

I'm on time but my time-card's missing. Time's up.Time to go. Better luck next time.

Expand full comment

Time wounds all heels from time immemorial ; there is never enough time. But the diaper stopped me, Ernie. Which is good. Now I have to think ...

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Justin Deming

Time Rules Fiction

I can feel the cold in my throat. It makes me cough a little. Not a choking cough, just enough to catch the attention of those around me. I know I shouldn’t be here but couldn’t help myself. I love ice cream, unfortunately like time, it’s gone in a flash.

Expand full comment