16 Comments

I know I'm new to your newsletter, Justin, but I already felt like getting one (or sometimes 2) emails a day was a little too much. I admire the fact that you can even crank that much work out, though! Personally, with all of the other things clamoring for my attention, I would be more likely to look at something like a prompt once per week. I think that gives your writing readers more time to respond. On the reading end of things, since you are writing short pieces, I think you can take whatever route you choose, especially since the pieces are short. However, I do think that people are more likely to skip over emails and start to think of them as spam if they see them coming in every day. (This all coming from someone who supposedly started a weeky-ish newsletter and hasn't published anything for a few months. :) Good things my readers are mostly all friends and family!)

Expand full comment

More than one prompt a week is too many for me because I’ve usually got other projects going.

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2021Liked by Justin Deming

Justin, I actually look forward to your daily prompts and short stories. Each one gives me something to think about, and the photographs you choose to accompany them are perfect. I can imagine that it's a lot of work for you to post so often, and after reading your correspondence with Mark, I can agree that two stories and two prompts a week might be your best bet. Please continue to post your writing. It is such a pleasure to read!

Expand full comment

For me, daily prompts are too often. I know I can ignore the ones that don't interest me, but I end up ignoring them all because there are so many and I know I will get another one tomorrow. I used to love Friday Fix because it was only once per week, and I could pull that off. 🤣 I looked forward to it.

I get a lot of newsletters and struggle to keep up (my own fault), so for me, one or two stories and one prompt per week is a good amount.

Frequency of posting is hard to get right. I think it is good to have readers look forward to your newsletters. I think I posted too frequently for a while. And I have gone to a three days per week schedule for paid subs. Free readers get one newsletter per week (two, if they opt-in for my novel-in-progress.) With occasional extra posts.

It is smart to ask your readers.

Expand full comment

I enjoy reading your short fiction, Justin! It’s a nice surprise in my inbox.

Expand full comment